Dedicated Criminal Defense in Tarrant County and the Dallas – Fort Worth Area
Spooky season is upon us, and Halloween is quickly approaching. Whether you plan to dress up, trick-or-treat, and/or carve pumpkins make sure you do so safely. Before you start celebrating, have a plan so that your fun doesn’t turn into regret. While Halloween brings fun for all, it also brings a spike in crime rates around the country.
Should you find your spooky night turn downright horrifying due to police, call the dedicated Criminal Defense Lawyers with The Law Office of David Sloane to protect you! The following are the Top 5 Most Common Crimes Committed on Halloween in Texas:
(1) Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
Under Texas Penal Code Section 49.04, a person commits the offense of driving while intoxicated if the person is intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place.
Texas Penal Code defines “intoxication” as:
- Not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties due to consumption of alcohol, a controlled substance, drug or other substance
- Having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more
To learn about DWI charges, visit our DWI web page.
(2) Underage Drinking – Minor in Possession
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code Section 106.5 states that it is illegal for a minor (under 21 years old) to possess alcohol, whether or not they have consumed any alcohol.
A minor in possession charge (MIP) is a Class C misdemeanor offense, punishable by a fine up to $500.
(3) Disorderly Conduct
Texas Penal Code Section 42.01 outlines several ways to be charged with disorderly conduct. A person can be charged with disorderly conduct if he intentionally or knowingly does any of the following in a public place:
- Uses abusive, indecent, profane, or vulgar language that disturbs the peace
- Makes an offensive gesture or display that disturbs the peace
- Creates a chemical noxious and unreasonable odor
- Abuses or threatens a person in an obviously offensive manner
- Makes unreasonable noise
- Fights with another person
- Discharges a firearm
- Displays a firearm or other deadly weapon to alarm others
- Exposes his anus or genitals without worrying who might see or be offended
- Enters the property of another and looks into the property through a window for a lewd or unlawful purpose
Punishment for a disorderly conduct charge depends on whether a firearm was involved in the offense. If a firearm was involved in the offense, it is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $2,000 fine. If the offense did not involve a firearm, it is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of $500.
(4) Criminal Trespass
Under Texas Penal Code Section 30.05, trespass means to enter or remain on the property of another without consent.
Criminal trespass on private property is a Class B misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. Punishment can vary depending on the type of property and the circumstances of the trespass.
Under Texas Penal Code Section 22.01, a person can be charged with assault if they intentionally, knowingly or recklessly cause bodily injury to another. Assault is a Class A misdemeanor offense, carrying a punishment of up to 1 year in jail and a $4,000 fine.
How to Fight Criminal Charges - Contact Us for a Free Consultation with our Tarrant County Criminal Defense Lawyers
If you or a loved one are facing a criminal accusation, you need aggressive criminal defense representation. A criminal conviction carries potentially life-long consequences, such as jail or prison time, stains your criminal record, and numerous collateral consequences. The experienced Tarrant County Criminal Defense Lawyers with The Law Office of David Sloane are here to protect you!
Our Tarrant County Criminal Defense Lawyers have helped thousands of clients fight DWI cases in Texas and throughout the greater Dallas – Fort Worth Area, such as:
Contact us today at (817) 349-7118 for a FREE Consultation with the Tarrant County Criminal Defense Lawyers at The Law Offices of David Sloane!