• Unparalleled Defense in Tarrant County

    Attorney David Sloane is recognized for his skilled defense work in DWI and marijuana cases.

    Why He's the Right Choice
  • "Attorney David Sloane
    Was a Lifesaver!"

    We believe that there is no greater reward than the successful defense of our clients.

    Read Our Client Testimonials
  • Get Dedicated Legal Representation

    Put our experience to work for you. Contact us for honest, direct, and sincere legal counsel.

    Request a Free Case Evaluation

Zero Tolerance Law in Texas

Anyone who is found driving with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or above is considered over the legal limit of sobriety. There are various ways that law enforcement officials assess a driver’s level of intoxication, but may rely on chemical tests to produce that a percentage. BAC is a measurement of just how much alcohol is in that person’s blood stream.

The law believes that if you are over the legal limit you will not be able to safely operate a vehicle and pose a threat to others’ safety if they take to the road. BAC laws apply mainly to drivers aged 21 and above. How much more stringent are the DWI rules if the drivers involved are underage?

Zero Tolerance Laws in Texas

The penalties for driving while intoxicated vary from state to state. Some states have strict guidelines and will lay down heavy punishments for what might be a minor offense in another state. In Texas, our laws are some of the toughest across the nation.

Texas law does not underage lightly. Zero Tolerance is exactly that: there are no exceptions. Anyone underage who is caught drinking and driving can be arrested, even for only a drop of alcohol found in their system.

The penalties for underage drinking and driving are as follows:

  • Up to $500 fine
  • 60-day driver’s license suspension
  • 20 to 40 hours mandatory community service
  • Participation in alcohol awareness classes

A second offense may carry the following penalties:

  • Fine up to $500
  • 120-day driver’s license suspension
  • 40 to 60 hours of mandatory community service
  • Participation in alcohol awareness classes
  • Not eligible for an occupational license in the first 90 days

A third or subsequent offense can carry the following penalties:

  • 180-day driver’s license suspension
  • Fine from $500 to $2, 000, or
  • Jail for up to 180 days

As you can see, the penalties will only enhance. If you or a loved one has been arrested for underage drinking and driving, it is vital that you act now to begin your defense. At the Law Office of David Sloan, our Fort Worth DWI lawyer can help protect both your rights and your future.

Get more than 20 years of experience on your side. Contact the firm today for a free case review: (817) 349-7118.

Categories: DWI
  • Unparalleled Defense in Tarrant County

    Attorney David Sloane is recognized for his skilled defense work in DWI and marijuana cases.

    Why He's the Right Choice
  • "Attorney David Sloane
    Was a Lifesaver!"

    We believe that there is no greater reward than the successful defense of our clients.

    Read Our Client Testimonials
  • Get Dedicated Legal Representation

    Put our experience to work for you. Contact us for honest, direct, and sincere legal counsel.

    Request a Free Case Evaluation
NACDL Member Why Choose Us Norml TCCDLA TCDLA Member National Trial Lawyers